Friday, 8 May 2009

Uefa didn't receive any appeals by Barcelona

UEFA has put out an official statement on the Champions League semi-finals, which indicates that Barcelona did not appeal the red card Barcelona player Eric Abidal was given on Wednesday.

This means that Abidal will not take part in the final of the Champions League. The statement on UEFA's official website reads as follows:

"With regard to the UEFA Champions League semi-final second leg between Chelsea FC and FC Barcelona in London on Wednesday, UEFA has received both the referee's and delegate's report. UEFA is currently examining those reports, as well as gathering additional evidence. It will decide which action to take in the course of next week. No protest has been received with respect to the red card shown to FC Barcelona player Eric Abidal.

UEFA has also received a submission from Manchester United FC concerning the red card shown to the club's player Darren Fletcher in the UEFA Champions League semi-final second leg against Arsenal FC in London on Tuesday. The UEFA Control and Disciplinary Body will meet on Monday to deal with this case."

Read more:
Guardiola and Messi protests not admitted
Barcelona will appeal Alves and Abidal cards

12 comments:

Knives Out said...

Why are we so slow?

Mat said...

why the heck not??

fcbee said...

Guess we know it won't make sense anyway. We did it against bayern, which also was clearly no dive from Messi but it wasn't revoked. Despite some reports, Uefa has most probably never revoked anything that was not "mistaken identity".

JR said...

Uefa wouldn't overturn the decision anyway. They never do that.

On top of that I think it's best tbh, because we were eventually lucky enough to go through (deserved nonetheless).

Anonymous said...

to pep or any member who can publish this: 2 hands ball inside the box from Ballack and Cole.
this is the video (focus betwen the 1.53 and 2.04 min): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RNQImCmVe8
what do you think?

Kubala said...

Unsuprising, as there is no facility to appeal unless it's a case of mistaken identity. The only way Abidals red can be recinded is if the referee, in his match report, says that he made an error.

Aditya Pandya said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Knives Out said...

Well I'll be damned if SAF's appeal for Fletcher on "humanitarian" grounds is granted then, and he scores against us, even!

zealot said...

@Anony,

I'm surprised. That was never mentioned ANYWHERE!! Ballack handled the ball in the penalty area as well!!

Anonymous said...

zealot Ashele c Cole too handed the ball inside the box just after ballack from xavi shot..

Meursault said...

Thanks for the video of the handball by Ballack, not sure if it's a pen though. Still, as I've been saying for a few days now, we only hear about anti-English decisions and, if it had been the other way around we would no doubt have never stopped hearing about it.

Respect to Messi (of course) for seeing it was clearly unintentional and not even appealing for it.

I just noticed that Google Blogger is making me type in "inessati" as a word... so similar, bizarre! Did you manipulate that Pep or are we getting some supernatural support this year!

pep said...

I actually wished I could manipulate that, Meursault...



(background information: my lack of computer knowledge is my big frustration these days)

Custom Search
 
Custom Search